READ ON-Know all you need to know!

ADAS: Today’s smart vehicle story

Advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS) are an assembly of electronic and artificially intelligent technologies that help to assist drivers or totally control every function during driving and parking to get an overall safe experience. ADAS are implemented to provide more car and road safety. ADAS use automated technology and human-machine interface (cameras, proximity sensors, light sensors, etc) to detect nearby vehicles, walls, obstacles or driver errors, and respond quickly according to that.

Most road accidents take place due to quick wrong decisions by humans. ADAS are developed to minimize those accidents and maximize driving comfort by automating and enhancing vehicle technology. Safety features are designed in a manner so that the intelligence can avoid collisions by offering technologies that provide signals to the driver and by taking control of the vehicle if needed. ADAS includes some features like automatic lighting, adaptive cruise control, collision avoiding human-like assistant, satellite navigation and traffic warnings, alert drivers to avoid obstacles, navigational assistance via smartphone network or in-built GPS system, etc.

In the early 1950’s ADAS was innovated with the adoption of ABS (anti-lock braking system). Therefore, the developers started including new features which are mentioned above, in addition to Lane Departure Warning Systems, Traffic light Recognition system, Automatic Tire Pressure Monitoring System, Parking assistant, Night vision and blind-spot detection, driver drowsiness detection, etc. We can classify the ADAS into 5 levels on the basis of automatic controls. Level 0 provides the most basic features like parking sensors, surround-view camera sensors, traffic sign recognition, etc. The level 1 and level 2 ADAS are not that much different from each other. They also need most of the driver's attention to drive the vehicle. The level 2 ADAS cam control multiple functions in a single time and that's proof level 2 over level 1 ADAS. Level 1 ADAS comes with the features like adaptive cruise control, emergency brake assist, lane cantering, etc, whereas level 2 also provides highway assist, autonomous obstacle detections, and many more functions. In level 3 to level 5 vehicles the vehicles increase more control over functions and reach the topmost autonomy of the car. According to the convenient usage of this technology, the market adaptation is increasing exponentially and according to recent market research this industry can touch a market capital of $65 billion by the end of 2027, isn't it huge? Automatic vehicles which are based on ADAS are also recommended to have insurance direct from the manufacturer to avoid serious allegations. Depending on the level, from level 0 to 5, each and all car manufacturers have to find out the best interest of the insurance to provide the best match for their vehicle.

Nowadays, ADAS is also coming into Mid-range cars like Mahindra XUV700. It has Adaptive Cruise Control to adjust the speed according to the traffic, automatic headlight controller to make a safe environment for the oncoming vehicle. This car is also able to read out the road signs. This kind of innovation and development will undoubtedly make cars fully automatic in near future and make driving easier and safer.

Let's Talk

Speak With Expert team.

RineX, Yeyyadi Mangalore, Karnataka 575008
Get In Touch